Re-found Obsessions….Books for Fun!

Since I started college in the spring of 2014 my days have been filled with textbooks.  Not that I have a problem with textbooks, but unfortunately the amount of reading that I get in each day is filled with theory instead of the joy of losing myself in a story.

But, last weekend (October 8th and 9th) I attended Nerdcon Stories, and I had such a wonderful time immersing myself in stories that I realized that Woman cannot live on textbooks alone!

“Woman cannot live on textbooks alone!” Tweet this quote.

So, I went home from an amazing conference with a whole list of authors I haven’t read before.  Some of them were certainly known to me, as my LaLa is in love with quite a few, but I was definitely determined to get in some new authors and some new fiction-like lives.

Which brings me to my newest find.  Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle series: Book One, The Raven Boys.

First and foremost, I was enchanted by the second page.

The names of the characters were totally charming and approachable.  I will probably contend that this is because of my own pagan ties.  Names like Persephone always have a special place in my heart!  And as the characters appeared, page by page, my wonderment grew.  The characters were so well thought out, and yet each has a slight secret that they haven’t quite revealed yet.  And I am quite captivated by each and every one of them.  Captivated enough to be unable to fall asleep on a Thursday night until one in the morning when I forced myself to put the book down and go to sleep!  I also feel as though there was a great fleshing out of every character, even those without a lot of screen time.  The inhabitants of 300 Fox Way remind me of my own friends, the fantastic Raven boys made me want to scream and cry sometimes, and the insidious antagonist made me angry time and time again!

And even though the plot twists and turns, it seems like an almost effortless twist which is easy to follow and keep up with.  Every chapter found me asking questions…and these questions were answered in the chapters that followed.  This probably helped reinforce the idea that I should stay up all night until I finished this great read!

Blue, the main female protagonist is a great character.  She is a powerful and great character, with just enough doubt to know that she hasn’t completed her journey.  And that’s okay, I was ready to take the journey with her after the first chapter.

The double love interest intrigued me from the start, reminding me of some of my favorite moments from Anita, Jean Claude and Richard in the first novels of the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton.  And my choice for Blue was cemented in such a short time that I feel like I will cry if she doesn’t end up with the one I think she should.

Overall, I loved this book and I cannot wait to start on the following books.  Luckily since the first installment was published in 2010 there are already three books done with a fourth on the way.  I can’t wait to see the further magical adventures of these great characters!

Leave a Reply

